Yutaka Izakaya: Burping Sushi

I seldom come across great Japanese restaurants that don’t cost me an arm and a leg. Usually, if a platter of maki costs less that 200 pesos, you’re bound to be sorely disappointed with the rice quality, taste, etc. That’s why when my friend Nikki told me about Yutaka Izakaya, a cheap but authentic Japanese restaurant along Aurora Blvd, I just had to try it out for myself.

And the place is awesome.

Loving the facade of Yutaka Izakaya

Average wallet damage is 200 pesos and for around 275 pesos, here is what I got:

8 Piece of California Maki, A Sashimi Platter and some Miso Soup

What I liked: A big part of great dining experience is atmosphere. And from funky Japanese folk music, furniture to a great looking facade, this place has got atmosphere. And even though it’s packed with students most days, it doesn’t have the cafeteria feel to it.

What I loved: Friendly and accommodating staff who say “Hai!” when you request things. Low-priced but great quality offerings.

What I hated: So hard to choose with so many items on their menu! Gets a bit overwhelming.

But over all, I’d really recommend this place to my friends and family. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

