Remember Hacienda Luisita

I remember the first time I got involved in the movement. I was in college at the Ateneo when I heard about Hacienda Luisita in Tarlac. I learned of the killing of the field laborers and farmers, the slow deaths of their starving families. And if I, a mere bystander cannot get those images out of my head, their pleas out of my heart; imagine the horror they still live with each day.

The incident at Hacienda Luisita was not, by far; an isolated one. That it was well publicized does not warrant exclusivity. Every day, thousands of farm laborers suffer in different haciendas all over the country. Each day, a child goes to the fields instead of to school to support their families.

Millions of Filipinos die because of starvation, lack of opportunity, the absence of good governance and the cruelty of landlords.

16161_1057726701155_1765517524_120480_6128060_n PAGBAYARIN ANG BERDUGONG PAMILYA COJUANGCO! HUSTISYA PARA SA MGA MANGGAGAWA NG LUISITA!

Leave a Reply

